Certified Ethics Trainer (CET)

State agency ethics liaisons (SAEL) designated pursuant to <u>R.S. 42:1170(C)(3)</u> who are in compliance with the mandate for two hours of annual training are certified trainers and are not required to comply with <u>§2405</u>.

Pursuant to <u>§2405</u>, anyone else wishing to attain CET status in the state of Louisiana must:

- Receive four hours of Ethics training through
 - attendance at multiple live ethics training seminars.*
 - a combination of live ethics training seminars and one ethics online training course.
- Register as a potential CET via the trainer portal.
- Submit an application (Form 2405 on the trainer portal).
- Not have been found to be in violation of any law within Louisiana's Code of Governmental Ethics. (See Third Party Ethics Training <u>rules</u> for exceptions.)
- Not be an attorney currently representing a client in connection with an Ethics matter (other than an advisory opinion).

Pursuant to <u>§2405</u>, CET must additionally take two hours of ethics training annually within the first 90 days of each calendar year in order to maintain certified trainer status.

Pursuant to <u>§2405</u>, only upon approval by the ethics administrator or his designee will an applicant become a CET.

Pursuant to <u>§2407</u>, training and education materials must be approved by the Ethics Administration. Established Ethics Administration training materials will be available to approved CETs via the trainer portal.

Pursuant to <u>§2409</u>, additional material must be submitted:

- For approval via the trainer portal as part of Form 2409.
- 60 days in advance of a scheduled training date.

Pursuant to <u>§2411</u>, a CET must notify the Ethics Administration to have each scheduled training approved via Form 2411:

- 15 days prior to a scheduled training with preapproved training materials; or
- 60 days prior to a scheduled training with materials that have not yet been approved.

Pursuant to <u>§2413</u>, each training program must:

- Be a minimum of one hour.
- Not contain graded test materials.
- Include the disclaimer statement found in $\frac{2413(F)(1)}{1}$.
- Include evaluation questionnaires available via training portal.

Pursuant to $\underline{\$2415}$, for each scheduled training, CETs must:

- Have each public servant complete an ethics training attendance form.
- Ensure the forms include attendee's name, date of birth, agency, signature, course number, and the statement in accordance with <u>\$2415(C)(1)</u>.
- Retain attendance forms for no less than four years.
- Submit names of attendees through training portal within 30 days of given training.

NOTE: This summary does not fully state the law. If interpretations of this summary conflict with the provisions of the Third Party Ethics Training Rules, the Rules will control.

*DVD trainings are not live trainings.